Florida House Bill 359
, effective June 23,2017, adds Section 627.4035(1)(b) which states that carriers are allowed to impose an insufficient funds fee of up to $15 per occurrence if the declined funds are made via a
debit card, credit card, electronic funds transfer (EFT), or electronic check. The insufficient funds fee is not
charged if the failure in payment resulted from fraud or misuse on the employer’s account from which the
payment was made and such fraud or misuse was not attributed to the employer.
Additionally, 627.162(5), Florida Statutes allows a carrier to impose a charge of $20 or 5% of the check
amount, whichever is greater, if the payment is made by check or draft and the instrument is returned
because of insufficient funds.